View Full Version : New Author

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Thoth
January 7th, 2003, 10:55 PM
Greetings!

I am a new author. I decided to write a novel a couple years ago. I spent the first year reading and the second year letting some of my thoughts inccubate. I am currently trying to muster the determination to quit procrastinating and pursue my goal in earnest.

I have some scrawlings in a few notebooks and that's about it.

I would consider my work to be dark, philosophical fantasy.

I'm a fan of triogies and have one planned. I'm testing the waters by writing a prequel first.

I know, I must be crazy or masochistic to want to become a writer but it's something I can do without quitting my day job.

Erebus
January 7th, 2003, 11:12 PM
Welcome, Thoth! I'm sure you'll find some very like-minded folks around here. :)

I, Brian
January 8th, 2003, 03:13 AM
Yep - it's always fun!

A point I would make is that you really need to ensure that you read other books in the same genre as you are planning - novels that may have the same ethos, progression, world-view, etc. The reason being that it helps give you an idea of the markets. To focus for publishing, it is quite essential to have at some idea of the markets you may be entering into.

milamber_reborn
January 8th, 2003, 08:17 AM
My usual advice is take notice of everything when you read. Style, grammar (in particular sentence structure), placement of key words etc. Everything that will help you master the art. And write, write, write. And learn to be a good self-editor. And learn from critiques. And enjoy your writing.

Or if you are doing it purely for fun, with no motivation to seriously get published, then ignore everything above.

OgreWolf
January 10th, 2003, 04:00 PM
Hi.