View Full Version : two page limit?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2 3

Blizzaurel
March 10th, 2003, 05:19 PM
ugh, every time i try to write a story, i write about two pages and then can't go any further and always end up tearing it up in disgust :(
help???
i even once wrote six pages, and had a history and everything, but i always seem to get so bored with whatever i'm writing... maybe i'm just not suited to stories? i write poetry, too, and maybe that's my strength??
help (again :) ) ???

Lucky Joe
March 10th, 2003, 07:00 PM
I am by no means an expert but I usually find when I can't progress with a story it's because I haven't planned what's supposed to be happening next. So I go back over what I've done, think about where I want to go and how I want to get there.

I don't know if this will help but I hope so.

choppy
March 10th, 2003, 11:44 PM
Pass me an oar 'cause I'm in the same boat!

Well, actually I can usually make it past two pages - but I frequently find that I abandon things before I really give them a chance.

For me, a big part of this is because of schedule. One of the largest complaints among aspiring writers is that we don't have the time we'd like to put into our writing. My schedule is very sporatic so it's not like I can reserve a time slot between 8:00 and 10:00 pm every night to devote to writing. As a result I find I'll be able to work on something for a week, and then I have to put is down for a week, then a week later I have new inspiration and can't remember half of what excited me about the main story in the first place.

Lucky Joe hit the nail on the head when he mentioned planning. For the odd project that I have been able to finish, it took a lot of planning. Otherwise I ended up just writing a "scene" rather than a story.