PDA

View Full Version : How many projects at once?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

pcarney
March 21st, 2003, 06:55 AM
How many writing projects do you work on at the same time? I've been working on an outline for the last two months. I found I hit a bit of snag, as I try to figure out 'what next?'. In the meantime, I've had inspiration for another project. Should I put the first aside for now, to work on this new thing? Should I try and work on both? I wouldn't say I've hit a deadend with the first one, I just gotta think about it for awhile, and I'm sure somethign will come to me.

Lucky Joe
March 21st, 2003, 07:24 AM
I usually only work on one project at a time, but as my projects are almost always novels it takes quite a long time to complete them. I recently came to the conclusion that I should try and produce 'about' one short story a month, I've worked on heaps of outlines and ideas for short stories in the past but I always ended up putting them aside to work on my novels, however I think it would be benifical to me as a writer to work on shorts and try and get them published.

As to how many projects at once, I just finished a stand alone Sci-fi, I'm now reworking a fantasy trilogy, I've got several Short Stories on the go and about half a dozen novel ideas that I'm constantly jotting notes down about.

The short answer is too many.:D

I, Brian
March 21st, 2003, 02:12 PM
Do whichever feels right.

Sometimes I've worked on multiples. But with the really important stuff it's best to keep focussed. Any ideas are slipped into the important WIP (and it's sequels) ;) .

mistri
March 21st, 2003, 03:03 PM
At the moment I'm experimenting with trying to just focus on my novel WIP, to see if I can get more done.