PDA

View Full Version : New voice experiment...Opinions, please

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

wolfie
April 5th, 2003, 06:01 PM
Hi, everyone. I wrote something up where I use a voice that I've never used before, a style that I've never attempted and I'm wondering how well it comes across. I like to try new things, to try to grow and expand. I'd appreciate any comments you may have, both positive and negative. I will have to split it into two parts, of course....lol. Thanks in advance.

Part I

The sun rose and set on Daniel Caffey...at least in Daisy Miller's eyes. The whole town knew she was sweet on him. The whole town with one exception; Daniel had no idea. Daniel had no modesty, false or otherwise, no ego. He never saw himself as any one else did, never saw him as Daisy saw him. For if he did, he would have stayed as far away from her as humanly possible. The whole female population of Winding Springs longed to date him, or at the very least, spend a night with him. Daisy though, longed to be consumed by him. But Daisy, you see, was a dog...at least in this life.

Yes, you heard me correctly. Daisy was a 2-year-old yellow lab. She belonged to the Miller's, whose house was to the left of the Caffey place on Baker Drive, whose yard abutted theirs for 150 feet. There was no fence separating the two properties. In all truth, there wasn't a fence to be found in Winding Springs at all, at least back then. Things have changed somewhat. I think it was Mark Twain that said good fences make good neighbors. But not in Winding Springs, and not in Daisy's eyes.