View Full Version : story for an animated short film

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

lego
April 9th, 2003, 10:44 AM
Hello everybody,

I am a 3d animator looking for a story for an animated short film. I have several years of experience in animation, for example I have worked for over a year with this guys ( www.liga01.de ), and my animation has been shown on mayor German TV stations.

Right now I am in the planning phase for my graduation film in Communication Design at the FH München (www.fh-muenchen.de/fb12/kd/popup.html - sorry, they don't have an english version), and I am searching for a short story to base my film on. As this is a non-commercial project I can not directly pay the author. But he or she will at least get a dvd and/or vhs with the final film, and of course the author will be mentioned in the credits - if you want to, I can even use huge red flashing letters for this ;) The film will be due in March 2004 and hopefully be shown on several festivals and contests.

So, what do I want the story to be like?

It should either be
- a comedy, or
- have a suprising/absurd/surreal ending

(With other words I'd like to have the audience laughing and astonished. The big, meaningful philosophy I would rather leave to Stanley Kubrick...)

- no more than two or three characters
- can have dialog
- a fantasy or science fiction setting would be great since I am a big fan of both, but a fairy tale or even a real world setting may work too
- characters can be anything from talking rocks to three-headed dragons or witty aliens. (Remember, this is going to be 3d animation, where anyting is possible :rolleyes: )

- the film will be 3-4 minutes long, so the story it is based on should be rather short. Probably no longer than 6-8 pages