PDA

View Full Version : World-building and fantasy: inextricably linked?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Ouroboros
April 12th, 2003, 08:51 PM
Quite often it seems that the practice of world-building is as much part of the form of fantasy writing as it is a by-product of it, in many people's eyes.

The materials thread particularly reminded me that many people write with an almost Tolkienesque approach where they construct their fantasy setting with painstaking detail, building whole political and social systems and drawing on this background as they venture into the writing. As a first time writer I couldn't seem to get the ball rolling unless I knew exactly what I was going to call obscure historical events, cities, festivals, elite cavalry, magical artefacts and whatnot in their fantasy world, and worried about these a lot more than the actual mechanics of what it takes to tell a good story.

I now write in a different way.

I have always felt that in order to write good fantasy, all that was required was to write well, in the same way as one writes well in any other genre: focus on characterisation, believable relationships, sharp dialogue and an understanding of the mechanics of plotting and pace. To me, the world-building aspect of fantasy is an inevitable by-product of the emerging story, but no more than that, and I feel that many have taken Tolkien's personal obsession as a linguist and philologist and ran with it, taking the genre in a direction it never had to go, necessarily...