View Full Version : Formal Education

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

pcarney
April 15th, 2003, 08:59 AM
Has anyone here received any formal education in writing? I graduated with a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree, Creative Writing. Although I have no doubt that my writing was improved by the program, I received no information about the business of writing. We took time to examine Fitzgerald to the smallest minutia, but not a minute was spent on 'how to get published'. This is one of the reasons I'm glad I stumbled across this forum, I'm finally getting an inkling on how to try and get published.

So anyone else do this? If so, what were your impressions of the program?

Thanks.

I, Brian
April 15th, 2003, 09:41 AM
I went back to college to get an A-Level in English Literature and Language. I learned a few long terms, now forgotten, and the course generally had no impact on my own writing. However, we did study Shakespeares "Richard II" which was a little inspirational.

Miriamele
April 15th, 2003, 12:02 PM
I'm taking part-time university right now to get a BA in English Language and Literature. I love studying literature, and the courses I've taken so far have been both inspirational and have helped me improve my basic writing skills (all those essays!). I don't know if it's really necessary to have formal education to become a successful writer but I can't see that it would harm in any way. At the very least, having formal education might make you look more impressive to publishers you approach in the future.