PDA

View Full Version : Writer's block (long)

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2 3

Jacquin
August 3rd, 2003, 08:10 PM
I am a writer, the problem is of course that Iím simply not writing much at the moment. So I suppose Iím just a wannabe writer. Not even a wannabe author, that implies that Iím writing but just havenít been published yet, Iím not even writing these days.

I have many projects on the go at them moment, there are some really good ideas, some Iíve even developed into thousands of words, but in all honesty that was a while ago, I havenít written anything much over 100 words for a long time now. Iím not sure why, I just donít seem to have the motivation. I really envy those writers that can sit and write for an hour every day whatever their mood. I tried it for a while, I ended up with a couple of pages of worthless tat and a lot of wasted evenings where I would sit and stare at the computer screen for hours.

I suppose the whole point of this is me trying to say in some understandable way that I have writerís block. But (and I know full well Iím not supposed to start a sentence with a ďbutĒ) I donít have writerís block, Iím not a writer remember?

It isnít fun, I have a keyboard in front of me that will produce any combination of letters, words and sentences I want as well as Gigabytes of empty disc space just waiting for me to try and fill it, but I suppose the simple truth is that it is easier not to write than to write these days.

Take this evening for example, Iím sat in my front room, I have some soft music playing (the Gladiator soundtrack at the moment Ė Thanks Andy), I have some candles burning and Iím sat with my laptop and a cold beer.

Perfect.

Or at least it used to be, these days it is about as ideal for writing as hanging upside down over a pit of rabid badgers.