PDA

View Full Version : Help me mature my idea!

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Drew
November 5th, 2003, 09:26 PM
I have put of writing for a good while for many reasons, but I am finally back and ready to write. However, as I stare at the blank page on Microsoft Word, I do not know how to begin. I am thinking that I need to get some help maturing my idea before I can really start writing.

Here is my idea, tell me what you like or don't like. You can be as harsh and honest as possible, I am open to criticism. And if it is a crappy idea, please tell me so as I am still tossing some different ideas around in my head.

A young man, a private detective by trade, awakes as if from a nightmare. He has no recollection of the past few weeks, only fleeting images of people and places he believes he has come in contact with during this time. As he awakens, he finds himself sprawled out on the floor in his apartment with empty pistols in hands. So, he sets off to find out what has been going on during the course of the last few weeks.

The scifi twist? Over the course of the story he learns that he has come in contact with forces from another dimension leaking into his world.

Sounds pretty weak, eh? It's okay, be blunt and honest. I would like to mature this idea a little bit more before I start writing.

Thanks in advance!

milamber_reborn
November 5th, 2003, 10:20 PM
It sounded good until the sci-fi twist. I love that sort of stuff, but I think the story sounds good just as a 'detective lost his memory' story.

Start with a catchy line or a solid but cliched line.

He awoke to the pain in his temples. Someone must have hit him, and hard.

He sat bolt upright, sweat dripping from his brow.

Lifino
November 5th, 2003, 11:16 PM
Originally posted by milamber_reborn

He sat bolt upright, sweat dripping from his brow.