View Full Version : Thoughts on writing and criticism

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

Holbrook
February 18th, 2004, 03:36 AM
“I am published; therefore I am an author and know better.” No you don’t. Okay, you might be better at grammar than me; and your idea might have caught the eye of an agent/publisher. But know better? That’s the ego talking.

It doesn’t mean you know better, it means you have got a break. It means you are one step further up the ladder. Yes, I would like to hear your opinion of my work, but would you accept my honest opinion of yours? You are published, the work is out in the public domain; therefore you have to accept negative critiques as well as positive. Being published does not protect you from someone thinking you work is crap and it shouldn’t.

To believe that because you are published everything you write is wonderful is fooling yourself as well as trying to fool others.

No matter what you write, whether published in the traditional manner, a short story on a forum to an essay in class, you are a writer. You have had the courage to put down the words in your head. You have had the courage to put it in a place where others can read it. Therefore you should have the courage to accept criticism, even the most negative kind. The sort that kicks your legs from under you and makes you think of giving up.

You might scream and cry when you read the comments, hate the writer of them, but in the end what’s the real reason for your reaction? “Ego” plain and simple, you don’t like to think that your writing is anything less than the “best”