PDA

View Full Version : Struggling Writers?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Rira
March 20th, 2004, 05:46 PM
Hey, any struggling writers out there? i know im one...i cant seem to finnish i a book ive been working on for 2 years!!! its a sorta fantasy thing, i suppose, without the fantasy elements...its diffucult to explain. But after 2 years of random chapters (some, like the 1st, written 11 or 12 different times!) and notes, ive finnally finnished the 1st chapter..and am somewhat satisfied. ITs the best yet, anyway....or at least, it gets down what is needed...anyway? remarks?

choppy
March 20th, 2004, 06:37 PM
You're in good company Rira. I'm another one of those struggling writer types. Although, I don't think of it so much as a struggle. To me it's more of a hobbie - somthing I do because I enjoy.

Here's some advice that's been given to me in the past that might help. Concentrate on finishing the first draft, rather than making the first chapter perfect. Nothing will be perfect in the first run. A lot of stuff get thrown away as the story progresses anyway.

Cheers!

Jacquin
March 20th, 2004, 06:57 PM
God yes!

I've started more books than I can remember. I have never yet finished one.

For a long time I knew I wasn't a short story writer but a novellist just waiting to be published, then I tried writing shorts. I found I quite enjoyed it.

Still not published, but in all honesty I haven't tried very hard. I've had a couple of rejections and still have one out there at the mo. Struggling writer? To be brutal I'd probably say I was a lethargic writer...

J

Gregg Bradley
March 20th, 2004, 09:45 PM
To Rira and all the other struggling writers,