PDA

View Full Version : Submissions, Rejections and his Wife.

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

Holbrook
August 19th, 2004, 05:40 AM
When I started riding this merry-go-round I decided that I wanted to be published mainstream by the time I was 50. That was 5 years ago.

By mainstream I don't mean best seller or even a low seller, just something in a mag, anything, but something I had been paid for, even if it was just £5.

Call it a personal goal, something I wanted to do.

I have been published with HE, that is POD, done for very different reasons and I am proud of it. Proud of the feedback we have had from strangers. Not done the sales. That was never part of the equation, least for me. It was a side path that sprung from trying to reach the goal and one that I will never regret taking, learned a lot about writing, me and friendship.

Now have two novels, a good dozen short stories and though I have come close; short stories held for three months or more, exchanges of emails, even had whole manuscripts requested; I still havenít sold one thing.

Not surprised, not in the least. Never had the dream of the best seller, or making a fortune, just wanted to make this goal of a single sale to prove a point to myself.

Just wondering how much longer should I go on?

After the present edits and re-writes should I call it a day? Send out until the end of the year then say okÖ you are 50 now, give it a rest, write for fun from now on.

kahnovitch
August 19th, 2004, 06:04 AM
Lets put it this way Hol, you've got nothing to loose by continuing to send out submissions.