PDA

View Full Version : Short story writers... Where are you reading?

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

juzzza
November 4th, 2004, 10:36 AM
So, everyone writing and attempting to get published, where are you currently reading short stories from?

Particularly I am interested in what genre fiction publications you are reading, The 3rd Alternative, Andromeda Spaceways you tell me?

I ask because most writers who expect to get published in magazines one day and who frequently use places like Ralan, don't actually subscribe and support these publications.

I see buying these magazines as three-fold... I am getting a great product with great fiction, I am researching what the publication likes which improves my chances of being accepted but perhaps most importantly as a writer, I am investing in my future... If you don't buy the fiction magazines and they vanish (and one dies every day much like the faeries in Neverland, every time a boy and girl says they don't believe in them) then who will publish your stories?

It's a cyclical process people.

Spears&Buckler
November 4th, 2004, 11:29 AM
Myself, I subscribe to "Realms of Fantasy" which is a mag that comes out about every 2 months. It has good short fiction, decent reviews, and also info about upcoming books, movies and games that fall under the fantasy umbrella. I recommend it if you haven't seen it yet.

Gary Wassner
November 4th, 2004, 11:38 AM
Have you looked at The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction edited by Gordon Van Gelder?

He is a very smart, very intense editor. I know that the stories he prints are quality ones.

Dawnstorm
November 4th, 2004, 11:42 AM
I never had the money for multiple subscriptions and didn't want to commit to any one magazine. Being from Austria means that I'm dependent on imports, which, currently, totally, utterly sucks. Nobody imports magazines anymore.