View Full Version : Trumpets and other Musical Instruments

SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

SubZero61992
November 17th, 2004, 06:16 PM
I was wondering if trumpets and things like violens would be to modern for my genre of stories which is Fantasy, fiction, Myth, and adventure.
The only reason I ask is because someone once said a ' pushreel mower ' was too modern.

P.S.: If you feel I should search myself then speak up.

Archren
November 17th, 2004, 06:30 PM
I'm by no means an expert, but stringed instruments are easier to have in fantasy stories than brass instruments, simply because their construction is much easier. Stringed instruments have been around a very long time, as have simple flutes and such, but my feeling is that a trombone is probably too modern.

Anyone else?

Drakonslair
November 17th, 2004, 06:34 PM
True the stringed instruments are easy to add in. Id look up some of the older ones like mandolins for example, or maybe call it a fiddle as its more oldish. However Trumpets are perfectly sound as well dependig on the type. For example there are the trumpets that are used to annouince kings arrivals etc in olden times. These are very simple versions but still.
Plus its fantasy so you can really add what you want

SubZero61992
November 17th, 2004, 06:45 PM
Thanks for the info, and I suppose you are right DrakenSlair, it is a fantasy.

Drakonslair
November 17th, 2004, 06:47 PM
Here this might help. Its some links to pages with info on medieval instruments
Mainly to do with the music I think but might have some useful info
http://www.medieval.org/emfaq/instr/specific.html

This one is better I think has info about the instruments

http://www.radix.net/~dglenn/defs/inst.html

JamesL
November 17th, 2004, 06:57 PM
Stringed instruments have been around for centuries, no problem with including them at all.