SFFWorld.com
Home - Discussion Forums - News - Reviews - Interviews

New reviews, interviews and news

New in the Discussion Forum

Pages : [1] 2

Expendable
March 7th, 2005, 10:51 PM
Hi, I need some help for a story.

My idea is for a virtual online world that people access by wearing a special headphones/visor combo that allows them to talk, hear and see in stereoscopic vision, plus some simple controls that allow them to move an avatar they created.

What I need is a sort of casual meeting place where people gather to socialize. Maybe a virtual bar?

I also need a name for a place like this.

Thank you
--Ex.

tooeviltoknow
March 7th, 2005, 11:01 PM
Cyberzone or cyber cafe, Abigor, Agaures, Sijjin .. as you can see, I'm not good with names.

Your story reminds me of Avalon by Mamoru Osh. Check it out, it might give you some ideas.
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B0000D9PNY/qid=1110258274/sr=1-2/ref=sr_1_2/103-8381225-1871846?v=glance&s=dvd

MrBF1V3
March 7th, 2005, 11:45 PM
I've written a story along the same lines, kind of, actually, there was that kind of setting is in one segment. I called it the Chateau Gaia.

I didn't really go into the "how" of the virtual world, I assumed a much more direct interface. I centered on the characters that were there and what was happening to them.

B5

PS--I posted the story I mentioned in the community. I had been thinking about doing it for a while. :)

Rocket Sheep
March 7th, 2005, 11:59 PM
Have you read Snow Crash?

Expendable
March 8th, 2005, 01:58 AM
Have you read Snow Crash?

I've read Snow Crash and Neuromancer, plus I've seen the anime .Hack//Sign. One of my avatars got into a shot for MacAddict when I was on Palace. I've been in Adobe's Atmosphere, Cybertown, Furcadia, AlphaWorld and for awhile, The Sims Online.

Sparhawke
March 8th, 2005, 03:09 AM
How about "The Message Board?"

Be a nice nod to forum culture.

Dawnstorm
March 8th, 2005, 04:23 AM