Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    GemQuest Moderator Gary Wassner's Avatar

Politics and Fantasy

An interesting discussion regarding politics and fiction resulted from an article by Jeff Vandermeer which you can read here at Emcit:

http://www.emcit.com/emcit125.php?a=2

and some recent dialogue around it:

http://noggs.typepad.com/the_reading....html#comments

I have my own very personal beliefs that tend to unfold in my approach to ethics as opposed to politics, but I certainly don't pretend to have answers that form the basis for any imperative of any sort. I don't allign myself with any political party or any dogma and I try to evaluate each situation that I encounter on an individual basis. I am a father. I am a husband. I am a friend. I am an author. I am a businessman. I try never to be cruel. I try always to be kind. I strive to be honest and I think always about my actions and their consequences. I don't need a political party or a movement or an ideology to inform me or to direct me, or to help define me. I'm a big boy now. I ask questions, always. I have far more quesitions to ask than answers to offer.

I write books that reflect my personal quest. I am humbled by the fact that they are beginning to find an audience that recognizes my effort without trying to pigeonhole me.

http://thefantasytimes.com/

(Thanks Jay for pointing this discussion out to me)

I had just started writing The Gift when 9/11 happened. 9/11 didn't come as as much of a shock to me as it might have to some other people; I'd been watching the world darken for a few years beforehand. But it was a shock all the same, and it did create a kind of focus point for me, as it did for many other people. Even at the time, I could see that it was going to be made into a fulcrum on which other things would be swung. I was more right than I wanted to be on that one.