Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

The Age Old Debate

I have been posting here for a few months now and i notice a rather disturbing and very childish trend. When you read this do take into account that I fully realize that this is a post board open to all types of debate on fantasy lit. One of things that disturbs me though is the need for people to say that one author is better than another. Whether it be for pure academic writing skills, storytelling or originality. Tolkien is the best, Jordan is king and on and on. Everytime I look back on here I see a new string of an already overdone topic. The thing that strikes me funny is that poeople actually believe that by bashing one author and praising another that this will change that person's opinion. If anyone has any background whatsoever in psych they will realize that this does not work. Everyone has their own opinion, and most people will become very defensive and less open-minded to the blatant disregard for something they believe to be true if this tact is used. Now I am not saying that I do not have opinions myself. Right now I am a huge fan of Martin's series and less than enthused with Jordan. The point of all this is that I will still read Jordan's work as well as Martin's, whether someone posts that Jordan's new book is garbage or Martin's new work is under par. The one thing that ties us all together and makes us post is our common love of fantasy in general. It gets to the point where the critics become so rude that you would think they owned stock in these authors. Until an actual published author gets on here and says that another author's books are terrible does anyone have more credibility than anyone else here? I doubt that if a bunch of authors got together on a message board that they would be sitting there like children saying that there work is better and the other author saying that his is. Something constructive that they might do is brainstorm ideas for books or to toss around new concepts. Now I kn