Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

strange societies in scifi literature

I'm studying up on utopian societies, real and fictional, and since I've read some sci fi and fantasy and found examples, I thought I would ask people if they know of any very strange societies, whether human or not, featured in the scifi they've read... not neccesarily intended as utopia, like say . SOmeone I know suggested r.a. salvatore's drow books (the drow), and i can think of philip jose farmer off the top of my head, or bruce stirling...
    any ideas?

Well, there is always Star Trek:

http://www.associatedcontent.com/art...rek_style.html

LOL

Photon torpedo those Commie Klingons.

There was Earth in the Larry Niven universe before the arrival of the Kzin.

And later there was The State.

I can't think of any REAL Utopias. It is like they are all constructs designed to have their flaws pointed out. There were a people living in the ships in Rite of Passage by Alexi Panshin.

psik
    Last edited by psikeyhackr; June 7th, 2009 at 09:11 PM.

Blog Entries
    Utopia, or just "strange"? Here's some utopias, anyway:

Banks' Culture books: "The Culture" is a galaxy spanning hedonist utopian-ish society of the pan-human-type race. No real government, per se. Just infinitely intelligent AIs with unlimited resources providing humanity their every need, want, and desire. Material utopia, for sure. But social utopia? Difficult to say...

Asimov's Robot novels: Humanity lives in a highly controlled indoor world, somewhat dystopic, with everyone living and moving along conveyor belts. The protagonist ventures to other human utopian colonies to solve crimes that are impossible according to the ideologies of the utopian societies -- or are they?

Heinlein's Starship Troopers: utopia or dystopia, you be the judge. Limited democracy where only veterans can vote, and morality is based in science and logic -- and surivalism.