Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Hybrid View

Question Getting Published - Your Questions Answered

My name is Tim Stretton and my first novel, a Jack Vance-influenced fantasy called The Dog of the North, was published in TOR paperback this month.

As a new writer I naturally have a low profile, but I hope my experiences might be of interest to readers, and particularly to aspiring writers. (If some of you want to check out the book too I won't complain...). My novel was published originally by Macmillan New Writing last year, and if nothing else is proof that you don't need an agent to be published.

I'd be delighted to answer any questions people might have about the mysterious process of being published. There are a lot of misconceptions out there, but if my story shows anything it's that you can get published without any contacts or track record.

Hey Tim,

Just a question or two.
    1. Once you have a significant portion of your first draft done, should you begin looking for an agent? Or how much should you have done before you do?

2. Is an agent needed? Or is it better to shop your work and see if anyone bites?

Just my opinion.

For your first novel, you should have a finished work to present to an agent. Usually you send an agent a query (sometimes with 5-10 pages or a first chapter), and if they're interested, they'll ask for a partial or full document. If you don't have that, well... that agent won't pick you up.

Blog Entries
    Crongrats, Tim on getting taken up by Macmillian New Writing, and Tor.

To echo hippokrene; Smiler 127, have your novel, complete and edited till it shines. I know with the Macmillian New Writing submission, you have(or used to) to submit the whole manuscript. A first draft will not do, you need to submit the best you can. The class of manuscript you will be up against is high, same as with submitting to any publisher or agent. To send out a half finished or unedited manuscript is to throw away a chance with either publisher or agent.