Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Talking What should I read next?

Im pretty new to Sci-fi, (Im more of a fantasy guy), but I have these two on my shelf and Im ready to go on to something new.

A Fire Upon the Deep by Vernor Vinge

or

Hyperion by Dan Simmions.

Ive only read The Terror by Dan Simmions, which I honestly didnt like, but otherwise Im brand new to these authors.

Im looking for something with more plot twists and adventure.

HELP!

Those two books you mention are both from the early 90s, I think. If you want something fairly easy to like and get into, from around that same period, with adventures and lovely plot twists, I would recommend Iain M Bank's Use of Weapons.

I really liked Orson Scott Card's book Ender's Game. There's a bunch of books he's written about the world Ender's Game takes place in but the two I've found that were the best were Ender's Game and Speaker for the Dead.

Both great reads and this is coming from a guy who is also more fantasy driven.

I would definitely read 'A Fire Upon The Deep' (I personally consider this Vinge's best work). Obviously, if you like it, you should then move on to 'A Deepness In The Sky', which is in the same universe and almost as good.

Hyperion never appealed to me that much.

I would agree. I am actually currently reading A Fire Upon the Deep for the first time, and am enjoying it much more than I enjoyed Hyperion.

I would definitely read 'A Fire Upon The Deep'
    Ditto!

I haven't read Hyperion, can't comment on that.

psik

Hyperion. Just awesome.

Saturn Comes Back Around Evil Agent's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Glelas View Post
    Hyperion. Just awesome.
    Yup, amazing. One of my favourite Sci-Fi books ever, along with Dune and some Asimov stuff.