Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

the stigma of the short fantasy novel

As a writer, I tend to be on the minimal side; I do not linger on overdescriptive prose. I fear my novel is going to be less than the 80,000 word "minimum" for publishing a fantasy book. Story quality aside, am I going to be fighting an uphill battle when submitting to publishers and agents if my manuscript is, say, 65,000 words?

Why doesn't the short novel get any respect in our genre? C.S. Lewis, Ursula K. Le Guin, J.R.R. Tolkien, Terry Pratchett, and even the famously-verbose Robert Jordan have all published novels in the 200-300 page range. These are well-respected authors, yet there seems to be a modern stigma that all fantasy novels must be sprawling epics. As a reader, I simply do not have the patience to devote to doorstopper books on a regular basis. I would assume there is a similar fanbase somewhere out there.

What are your thoughts?

I've a fellow writer named T M Hunter who does quite well with novellas. He sells them to Indies and became my publisher's best selling author last year with these things. Perhaps an Indie is your best fit as well.

Kerry

Book of the Black Earth
    Blog Entries
    I think there is room for shorter novels (and novellas) in SFF. As readers, we're a pretty inclusive bunch.

What are your thoughts?
    Mark P, there are several smaller publishers who are requesting submissions of novellas, and are marketing them well.

Run through this link and you'll see some houses asking for novella manuscripts.
    http://ralan.com/m.publish.php/

Oh btw Mark, when I finished the first book in my series, it stood at around 70k words. However, after 5 drafts I saw an increase of between 20-30k words.

I don't know who told you there was a minimum of 80,000 words, but that's incorrect.

Are you trying to write alternate world fantasy or something else?

Book of the Black Earth
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by KatG View Post