Page 22 of 22 FirstFirst ... 12202122
Results 316 to 326 of 326
  1. #316
    \m/ BEER \m/ Moderator Rob B's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Near Cows in the Garden State
    Posts
    10,896
    Quote Originally Posted by Arkeus View Post
    I usually like brandon sanderson, but warbreaker is an older work.
    Right, because a book published less than 2 years ago (in 2009) is an older work.

  2. #317
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    190
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Rob B View Post
    Right, because a book published less than 2 years ago (in 2009) is an older work.
    when he has done 6 enormous books between, yes.

    Edit: sorry... i sort of thought it was done alongside elantris, hence before mistborn/WoT/WoK.

    Apparently, he worked on it some more since.
    Last edited by Arkeus; January 31st, 2011 at 07:38 PM.

  3. #318
    Dresden Files
    Malazan
    Song Of Ice and Fire
    First Law Trilogy
    Codex Alera
    Iron Druid Chronicles
    Bartimaeus Trilogy
    Most books by Eddings and his ilk !!
    Locke Lamora
    Night Angel Trilogy
    Mistborn


    and most of the 'top' books that are recommended in this forum

    Just in case.. I love books with such kind of fast paced action and/or tight storylines with AMAZING characters !! Glokta, Batrimaeus, Tyrion !!
    Could you please suggest completed series
    What next ??

  4. #319
    Quote Originally Posted by Ajax12 View Post
    Dresden Files
    -->Felix Castor series or Joe Pitt series, depending on how much noir you can tolerate

    First Law Trilogy
    -->Best Served Cold and The Heroes

    Iron Druid Chronicles
    -->any of a bazillion pretty much interchangeable UF series; maybe try the October Daye books or the Jesse James Dawson books

  5. #320
    I liked Darren Shan - Cirque du Freak series a lot, loved them. Didn't like his Demonata series though, gave up twice after the second book.

    What will I like after CdF?

  6. #321
    Administrator Administrator Hobbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Hobbit Towers, England
    Posts
    11,700
    Blog Entries
    126
    Younger Hobbit went from the Darren Shan to the Skullduggery Pleasant series by Derek Landy: might be an option.

    Link.

    Mark
    Mark

  7. #322
    bingley bingley beep kissmequick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    134
    Quote Originally Posted by Ajax12 View Post
    Dresden Files

    (
    Ben Aaronovitch: Rivers of London (Midnight Riot in the US), Moon Over Soho. third book due in June. Great fun - a few flaws but I was enjoying myself so much I didn't care.


    Fated, by Benedict Jacka - only the first book is out just yet, but I think they will be out at 3 month intervals. Very, very good. Jim Butcher blurbed it as 'A book so good it reminded me why I got into storytelling in the first place'. Also craftily refs a certain Chicago wizard PI.... lol. Well worth reading imo

    Sandman Slim books. I can only say - I pretty much had to read in one sitting. Awesome. Several books out.

    ETA: I'll second the Carey nom - fab writer and nice bloke too.

  8. #323
    homicidalbookworm
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Wales, land of rain, music and sheep
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by kissmequick View Post
    Sandman Slim books. I can only say - I pretty much had to read in one sitting. Awesome. Several books out.
    I agree completely. And there's a new one due out later this year as well. Devil Said Bang

    [SCI-FI INSERT - The character reminds me of Takeshi Kovacs from the Altered Carbon series by Richard Morgan, in that he turns violent at the drop of a hat. And such fun violence by the Sandman too]

  9. #324
    Hello, I'm not sure if this is the correct thread to post this question . . .

    I just watched the Hobbit and I loved the character of Radagast the Brown. His home, his style, his manner of transportation, and the idea of him living in the middle of nature was awesome! Are there any books that feature simiar wizards? More "earthy" and nature oriented if that makes sense? So basically if I liked him, then what other books would I like? Thanks!

  10. #325
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Juniper
    Posts
    20
    Recently I listened to and thoroughly enjoyed Ready Player One, John Dies at the End and its sequel. Anybody have any recommendations that are similar to these?

  11. #326
    \m/ BEER \m/ Moderator Rob B's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Near Cows in the Garden State
    Posts
    10,896
    It seems that if you like Brian McClellan's Promise of Blood you might like Django Wexler's The Thousand Names and/or D.B. Jackson's Thieftaker since all three are part of what's being called Flintlock Fantasy

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •