Page 5 of 23 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 344
  1. #61
    Lord Deceiver estranghero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Pearl of the South
    Posts
    1,530
    Right after the trilogy, actually e-M.

    There's also the 2 additional books on this barbarian plainsman character in Darwath that Hambly wrote. (Forgot his name.)

  2. #62
    Elusive Enchantress e-Morgana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Back in Cairns enjoying the onset of Summer
    Posts
    1,212
    Originally posted by estranghero
    Right after the trilogy, actually e-M.
    Thanks e-hero - that would explain why I have it listed as no. 4 of a trilogy. I thought I was losing it for a while there.

    I've also heard of these barbarian ones, but damned if I can remember their names either. If we're patient, someone might come and put us out of our misery.

  3. #63
    Lord Deceiver estranghero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Pearl of the South
    Posts
    1,530
    Originally posted by e-Morgana

    Thanks e-hero - that would explain why I have it listed as no. 4 of a trilogy. I thought I was losing it for a while there.

    Wouldn't that be called a sequel?

    I know, I'm sorry... couldn't resist!!!

  4. #64
    Registered User lemming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, MA
    Posts
    458
    Mother of Winter is a sequel to the Darwath trilogy, but by no means should it be considered part of the series. It's a standalone book that deals with a problem that arises after the trilogy is over (and is dealt with in that one book). The reason those things set it MORE apart from the trilogy than usual is that the trilogy is so well-thought-out as a trilogy... it doesn't come to a false start at the end of book one, interesting things come to light all the way through the series, and so on. But anyway, I guess we're off-topic for this thread.

    In case anyone cares, there's another standalone in the same world called Icefalcon's Quest. Not that good though.

    lemming

  5. #65
    Elusive Enchantress e-Morgana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Back in Cairns enjoying the onset of Summer
    Posts
    1,212
    See e-h!! I just knew someone would step in and help!!

    Icefalcon - he's the barbarian. Now I can sleep tonight.

  6. #66
    Lord Deceiver estranghero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Pearl of the South
    Posts
    1,530
    Such helpful people here, e-M. Thanks lemming...

    Icefalcon - he's the barbarian. Now I can sleep tonight.
    So can I. Actually one of the better characters around, now that I remember him...

  7. #67
    Loveable Rogue Moderator juzzza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    In the shadows
    Posts
    3,890
    If you liked King's Dark Tower series, you'll love Gemmell's John Shannow novels. Cowboys in Fantasy genre??? I was worried but it works well.

    Sorry if this has been mentioned, I caught the thread late.


  8. #68
    Loveable Rogue Moderator juzzza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    In the shadows
    Posts
    3,890
    If you liked John Shirley's Demons, then you might like Stephen Laws' Daemonic.

  9. #69
    \m/ BEER \m/ Moderator Rob B's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Near Cows in the Garden State
    Posts
    10,907
    For readers who enjoyed the nautical aspect, sea serpents and Pirates (particularly Kennit) of Robin Hobb's great Liveship Traders trilogy, I would recommend China Mieville's The Scar, which for the record, IMHO, is a better read than PSS.

  10. #70
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    544
    There was an earlier mention of Tad William's Otherland series. Those who liked it might want to check out 'DONNERJACK' by Roger Zelazny and Jane Linskold. Lindskold finished it after Zelazny's death.

    Donnerjack explores the same themes of virtual vs real and manages it in one volume as opposed to William's lengthy four. IMO a better story too.

    S

  11. #71
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    290
    I just read through the whole thread hehe. I think David Gemmell is great by the way. Infact I even love his writing style, the interaction of characters and the straightforward reading (and yes I also love Neil Gaiman, Iain M Banks, George RRM, and one of my favourite writing styles, Clive Barker). DG is exactly was it says on the packet.

    Anyways i posted to say, DG i find very similar to James Barclay IMHO (so far anyway, just read the four books available presently form JB).


    Hmmm i dont think i have read anything else similar .. i need to read more

  12. #72
    \m/ BEER \m/ Moderator Rob B's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Near Cows in the Garden State
    Posts
    10,907

    BUMPEDY BUMP BUMP

    I really like this topic, so I'm resurrecting it.

    If you liked Gene Wolfe's Book of the New Sun, you'd probably like Jeffrey Fords Physiognomy and it's sequels. Both worlds have a similar feel, both protagonists are in similar positions of power and go through similar (yet quite different) journeys in the world and of self-discovery.

    If you like Ray Feist's Magician and subsequent Krondor books, chances are you will like Fritz Leiber's stories of the world's greatest swordsmen, Fafhrd & the Grey Mouser. Feist acknowledges Leiber as one of his primary influences and the Theives in Krondor owe a huge debt to Leiber's Thieves Guild.

  13. #73
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Switzerland, Zuerich
    Posts
    1
    Hello,

    The first trilogy I read based on a suggestion by a friend was:
    Memory, Sorrow and Thorn.

    ...and here's my first question.

    If I liked MS&T, what other series would be comparable ?
    I saw a recommendation by FitzFlagg mentioning:
    GRRM's A Song of Ice and Fire . Any other suggestions ?

    Thanks


    Anthony

  14. #74
    If you like Pratchett, you might also like Wodehouse, although he's not fantasy. (It's the humor I'm recommending.)

  15. #75
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    83
    Originally posted by Tony-V
    If I liked MS&T, what other series would be comparable ?

    You could always check out Williams's Otherland Series. It has a more sci-fi feel to it, but it is also very good.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •