Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Space Opera recommendations?

I'm kind of new to the science fiction genre, and while the ideas interest me, the books usually seem to be lacking in character depth. Do you know of any really good Space Opera books/series that feature strong characters and character development?

Also, I don't want any books that are overtly sexual.

Just came to search around for some too. I've been in a space opera mood and just ordered Leviathan Wakes, I'm looking for some other titles.
    Last edited by Danogzilla; January 10th, 2012 at 07:50 PM.

These threads might point you in the right direction for a plethora of reading suggestions:
    Epic SF and Space Opera: Here's my giant list, what's missing?
    I'm running out of space operas!
    Best Space Opera

Quote Originally Posted by Rob B View Post
    These threads might point you in the right direction for a plethora of reading suggestions:
    Best Space Opera
    Is there a search feature that I'm not seeing?

Nevermind, I somehow skipped over the part where you want to avoid anything overly sexual

Quote Originally Posted by Danogzilla View Post
    Just came to search around for some too. I've been in a space opera mood and just ordered Leviathan Wakes, I'm looking for some other titles.
    Forgot about that book. Hmm... I'll have to check it out. I wonder how the characters are. Have you read any other space operas?

Quote Originally Posted by Rob B View Post
    Best Space Opera
    Thanks! I'll be sure to browse through those lists. Bad things with lists, though, is a lot of times it's just a, well, list... You never know exactly why the books are on the list. Like, what makes them good.