Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 37 of 37
  1. #31
    Creator of Worlds sullivan_riyria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    991
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Lawrence View Post
    That Mr Abercrombie! It seems a third of my reviews make either favourable or unfavourable comparison - many citing the clear influence of his books. I've either failed in my attempt to imitate him or surpassed him at his own game yadda yadda.

    I'd never heard of him before getting published & whilst all I've heard is good stuff, it will be quite a while before I get around to reading his work. Given the circumstances I just relish being able to say I've not read him. Saying I only read him 'recently' just muddies the water.

    I will do one day though! For now, it's The Whitefire Crossing for me.
    For me it's Fritz Lieber - everyone always compares my books to his and mention how I must have been influenced by Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser. On one hand I want to read them - because obviously they would be "right up my alley" but on the other - I don't feel I can until I'm 100% done writing Royce and Hadrian as I don't want to find myself changing how I write. I'm afraid I would end up trying to avoid "walking in their shoes" which currently any action on that part is purely coincidental. There is curiosity to see if there is similarities but for me the risk is just too great now.

  2. #32
    Quote Originally Posted by TooNice View Post
    thanks a lot guys. i looked into brent weeks more and he seems to 'wheel of time' for me. i'll definitely check out bakker at some point, even if he is very different. paul kearney and kj parker will also be added to my to read list.

    but it seems glen cook is the way to go for me right now. as soon as i finish 'yes man' it's glen cook, then the rest of the dresden files. thanks.

    if anyone else has read those authors i'd still be interested in your opinions though.
    I know I'm really late to this thread. Just wanted to throw in my .02. First, Weeks is literally nothing like Wheel of Time. I couldn't even get through two books of Wheel of Time, whereas Weeks is one of my favorite authors. He doesn't have the depth of GRRM or Rothfuss, but he writes action extremely well and his characters are all relatable and likeable (even the unlikeable ones). And he's worlds deeper than Jordan.

    For authors similar to Abercrombie (who I love), I concur with some of the suggestions here, especially Morgan and Cook, and even Bakker...though he's similar more in the world-building and general grittiness, but not at all in writing style. No author is ever 100% similar, even those who try to emulate others. But many have a similar vibe...like Scott Lynch and Hulick, for example. Lots of differences, different writing styles, etc, but very similar vibe to them.

  3. #33
    The Enigmatic Paradox ColdSun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    191
    I'm also very late to this thread.

    Other than the wonderful suggestions I've seen here, you might also want to check out the fantastic David Gemmell. While GRRM and Abercrombie have much better world building, Gemmell was a master at creating heroes. Some of his writing is witty like Mr. Abercrombie, although not as much so. I highly suggest you look for his books. You will find many posts on this board about them.

    Finally, in case this was missed by anyone else, I find Django Wexler's Thousand Names books very similar to Joe Abercrombie. Strong characters, and fantastic world-building. Some wit and a lot of dark tidings.

    Good luck!
    ColdSun

  4. #34
    I would say the closest thing to Abercrombie in my opinion is The Broken Empire series by Mark Lawrence.

  5. #35
    Quote Originally Posted by TooNice View Post
    David Gemmell is quite similar too actually when I think about it although much less 'gritty', but I've read enough of him lately.
    Gemmell is a great comparison - Abercrombie covers a better character range, and does so with finesse. However, the characters that Gemmell does write tend to be exceptional. Gemmell also leaned towards historical fiction, so his worlds are rich in their historical analogues.

    Quote Originally Posted by sullivan_riyria View Post
    For me it's Fritz Lieber - everyone always compares my books to his and mention how I must have been influenced by Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser. On one hand I want to read them - because obviously they would be "right up my alley" but on the other - I don't feel I can until I'm 100% done writing Royce and Hadrian as I don't want to find myself changing how I write. I'm afraid I would end up trying to avoid "walking in their shoes" which currently any action on that part is purely coincidental. There is curiosity to see if there is similarities but for me the risk is just too great now.
    It's simply because you have a two-man double-act, but your characters are nothing like Fafhrd and the Grey Mouser. It would also be fair to say that you cannot escape Lieber's influence if you have read any fantasy published since the early 1970's. I wouldn't hold back on widening your reading.

  6. #36
    Creator of Worlds sullivan_riyria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    991
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Heather Myst View Post
    I would say the closest thing to Abercrombie in my opinion is The Broken Empire series by Mark Lawrence.
    I concur with this assessment.

  7. #37
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Arizona/California
    Posts
    242
    I think you have some good suggestions here, but I would have to disagree with Bakker as being all that similar to Abercrombie. Bakker's writing is dark, gritty and is excellent. The main difference for me is that the PON series and White luck Warrior have character's that I couldn't stand. The were well written and had great developement, but they were all bastards, betrayer's or pitiful. Akka was so pitiful that I became disgusted with him, and he is the only one that I can see that has the remotest of chances for any type of redemption. As I read WLW, a ton of bad stuff starts happening to the remaining main character and that was what I started rooting for. The bad stuff that was happening to them.

    Abercrombie on the other hand has characters that I really enjoyed...... especially Glokta (jab jab ehhh).

    Don't get me wrong.... I think Bakker's writing is excellent and although his characters are very well done.... I hate them..... and this is intentional on Bakker's part...so it isn't like I am trying to imply that he failed in his characterizations. think of reading a realistic book about the ISIS fighters and what they are doing to people in the territory that they have captured and add to it a character that slavishly follows their leader around and mentors him on all your country's military secrets while at the same time being cuckolded by that leader who has taken his wife from him and nightly works to impregnate her right next to the cuckolded husband so that he knows what and when it happens and even hears it going on.......and repeat day and night That might be a pretty good comparison.
    Last edited by kempster; February 11th, 2015 at 09:49 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •