Does this sentence make sense?

They created a new world, bound with ties of unity and prosperity.

When I first wrote this sentence, it seemed to flow rather nicely. but now I'm wondering if it's grammatically correct.

Jeff

It could be worse. ~tmso Moderator N. E. White's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    Maybe it is a bit redundant? Maybe:

They created a new world bound with unity and prosperity.

Thanks tmso

I've actually seen the phrase " ..bound by ties of.." or "..bound by the ties.."

If analyzing, the wording does seem redundant though. But then when it comes to language, there are countless phrases and expressions that make no sense if taken literally, but have a distinct meaning.

Perhaps, I'll just keep it as is.

pragmatist
    jeff p:

It reads ok to me.

But I'm very new to this writing game, my grammar isn't great.

Fictional Mountain Man
    If my high school English serves me correctly the sentence is grammatically okay, although the comma may or may not be necessary but it does seem a little off somehow. Honestly with a tiny bit of context it would might make more sense.

Also if you are having trouble with the grammatical side of things check out Strunks, The Elements of Style. It's a really nice go to in situations like this, and you can pick it up on Amazon for like 3 or 4 bucks.

Quote Originally Posted by jeff p View Post
    They created a new world, bound with ties of unity and prosperity.

When I first wrote this sentence, it seemed to flow rather nicely. but now I'm wondering if it's grammatically correct.

Jeff
    My gut tells me a professional editor would change it to:

They created a new world bound with unity and prosperity.

But it's hard to know for sure without a reference point. That's also clearer and more concise. The original may be a tad overwritten.

Thanks for all the replies.

There is a method to my madness though.

The sentence is an excerpt taken from my prologue.