Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Are there many other artists here?

I just joined last night, but I've visited the site a few times looking it over. I'm curious to know if there are really any other artist's here. As an artist myself I know that I have a different way of looking a books than many readers that I know. Personally I'm very interested in the imagery of a scene. I don't like reading a book that doesn't seem to take place in a definable location. I know some people prefer to read just the facts, but for me I want to see exactly what the author is trying to show me. I have a hard time getting into a book where the characters are basically silhouettes floating in an ambiguous void. I tend to like the same kind of books that other artist find enjoyable.

Blog Entries

Short answer, Yes.

I am an artist too, not great, but I did make my own avatar. I do like descriptive writing as long as the writer can maintain the flow of the story. Writing is a most challenging medium in that respect. Too much description can bore your reader, while too little makes your characters seem like cardboard.

I too am also an artist, you can see my thread just below this one

Blog Entries
    I too am an artist, currently pursuing a Bachelors of Creative Media. But I've been too chicken to post :-P

I do it, but more as a hobby these days. I got into computer graphic design by accident really, taking a graphic design job while in college studying political science. All I do these days are logos for clients that approach me or stuff for my books.

Here's a thingy I finally "finished" this week after puttering around on it for a long, long time. Of course, I'll probably tweak it again. It's a city from my WIP universe that I made purely for inspiration. I used some mountain photos I had for the mountains, a few building photos from my travels, but much of what you see, I created using vectors and then rendered them in Photoshop.

http://s15.postimage.org/9dnyx5z3d/n...or_posting.jpg