Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    www.unityparadigm.com

Talking Tips/Tricks for getting some writing done while holding a full time job.

Hi guys. First and foremost, a most humble hello and thanks for the time taken to reply. This is my first post, so I hope I've posted in the correct forum.

I've been a long time sci-fi fan through different mediums, but I've recently dedicated myself to write my first novel and create a universe around it. It's been an eye opener process thus far, but the most import question I'd like to ask the community is what are some tips and tricks out there to get the time to actually do any writing while working a full time job?

I'm a software engineer by trade, so that takes up a large portion of my work week and I'm also a husband/dad so I like to make provide some time for my family members. While I originally was very passionate about my story, I've found it more and more difficult to sit down and write for an extensive period of time.

Any ideas that would help would be greatly appreciated.

Blog Entries
    Welcome. I understand where your coming from. I am also a father, husband, and work in the IT field. I have some small programming projects on the side also, so between all that, reading and writing, time defiantly becomes a dwindling resource.

I finished my first novel in 2010. I wrote in any stretch of time I had available that was long enough for me to turn on my computer and write down a few lines. If you have a smart phone, use that to write some notes of things you think about through the day or some lines of dialogue. Then you can transfer those notes. In the end the only way you'll get it done is just to write any chance you get. Remember, you do it because you enjoy it, not because you have to.

Also, come and join us in the flash fiction thread. This will give you a chance to practice your writing and get feedback from the community. At the very least, you’ll get to read some interesting stories.

www.unityparadigm.com