Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Reading actual books is MUCH more fun than reading ebooks

I've been using my kindle for the last two years and I just haven't been enjoying myself like I used to before. Is it just a mental thing or what?

I enjoy reading both physical books and ebooks on my Kobo. In fact I think I read a little faster on my Kobo. I do not like reading books on my laptop however.

It's not the same at all. I mean even books with that horrible paper that makes your fingers feel horrible is better than a Kindle in terms of feeling.

For me, the medium doesn't matter. It's the words that count.

Way Too Human
    Although I love my Kindle, there is a distinct pleasure in reading an actual book (paperback mostly). I think it's mental though. I don't think my children (16 and 19) will miss it as much as I do.

Perhaps someone needs to invent a fragrence that smells like a new book. We could then apply it to our Kindle covers for that new book smell every time we use it.

I like SF. SF is cool. Steven L Jordan's Avatar
    Now that I've taken to reading ebooks, I plan to never read a paper book again. We need trees more than we need paper.

Quote Originally Posted by Steven L Jordan View Post
    Now that I've taken to reading ebooks, I plan to never read a paper book again. We need trees more than we need paper.
    Which is why publishers are using recycled paper quite frequently now.

But one could easily counter and say the production of e-readers is just as destructive due to the chemicals, manufacturing processes and so on, not to mention the employment of cheap and exploitable labour forces.

Quote Originally Posted by Loerwyn View Post
    Which is why publishers are using recycled paper quite frequently now.

But one could easily counter and say the production of e-readers is just as destructive due to the chemicals, manufacturing processes and so on, not to mention the employment of cheap and exploitable labour forces.