Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Hybrid View

Military Science Fiction (Merge of 3 threads)

Hi guys. I am relatively new to the Sci-Fi genre. I have read some Starwars books and that's about it but while at the book store the Fade Sun Trilogy by C.J.Cherryh caught my eye and i picked it up. After thnking for a bit i have decided to give more Sci-Fi a chance and have a few questions for you guys. I am mainly a fantasy reader and i love books with a heavy military theme like GRRM Song of Fire and Ice Series or Ericsons Malazan Book of the Fallen Series. What books in sci-fi would you guys recomend that have a heavy military theme to them, i want starfighters, spaceships, battles, intrege, politics, kind of like the 3 Star Wars books by Timothy Zahn. Thanks guys!

Administrator Administrator Hobbit's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    Timothy Zahn has written some SF books in a very similar style to the Star Wars books. These might be a fair start. Try: Spinneret, Cobra/Cobra Strike/Cobra Bargain, Blackcollar and the Conqueror's series Conqueror's Pride/Conqueror's Legacy/Conqueror's Heritage(not sure how easy they are to get, but I think all were written before the Star Wars novels).

May be easier to get The Icarus Hunt - more recent.

Of writers in a similar vein - try Roger McBride Allen or possibly Allen Steele, who writes a good pastiche of Heinlein (with all its advantages and faults!) and First Flight & Grounded by Chris Clairmont (who writes a lot of XMen stuff if I remember right).

For material more in a SF/Fantasy vein, try CS Friedman's Black Sun Rising/ Coldfire Series, which a lot of people like around here - it's an SF/Fantasy book - sort of future space opera which mixes Sf and Fantasy.

I quite liked Simon Green's Deathstalker Series - space opera but fun!

David Weber's Honor Harrington series is quite good. Lois McMaster Bujold's Miles Vorkosigan Series is recommended.

If you like 'power suits' try Joe Haldeman's Forever War or John Steakley's Armor.