Seeking Epic Fantasy Booklist

Hello,
    I'm fairly new to the world of fantasy Fiction (as a dedicated reader) and so I'm having trouble finding "good" authors and series. Currently, I pick a "sample" book from a given author (usually the first in a series) and give it a go; if i like the book then I go throught the series; if I don't, then I move on. This is causing me problems because a. I'm wasting time and money on some less-than stellar material and b. I feel I'm missing some good authors by picking a bad sample from their work. My network of friends who could provide referrals in this area is non-existant. If anyone out there could provide a list of their 10 ALLTIME favorite EPIC Fantasy Series (or a link to a credible resource) I would be very much in your debt.
    Thank you

Try http://www.sff.net/people/Amy.Sheldon/listcont.htm It is the best list I have come across and what I like is the large selection of authors.

Guarded by the Moon Moderator Lani's Avatar
    Welcome to the boards, Phoenix.
    I'd like to point out a few things on the board for you that might help you in your search for good books.
    First of all take a good look at the Recommendation thread. It has a lot of links that could be helpful to you.
    In addition we already have quite a few Top 10 lists like the one you are looking for
    i.e.
    Top 10 Fantasy Novels
    Fantasy Epics (Ones to read, ones to steer clear of)
    You can also find a lot more similar resourses if you do a search in the forum, but somehow I feel you can find a lot to read from these threads as it is.

Quote Originally Posted by Gilliam
    Try http://www.sff.net/people/Amy.Sheldon/listcont.htm It is the best list I have come across and what I like is the large selection of authors.
    Thank you Gilliam, more than enough to get me started.

Thank you Lani