I'm not good with plants or times........

I am not good about how strong or what plants supplies during what times of years, I know some good research would help like I think I should do before I start writing, but do you think and arrow could penetrate an oak tree?

I'm not sure I can help much, but I'm pretty sure oak trees go through something called a 'dry season' what time of year it is I don't know.. but arrows can penetrate trees in the movies ... If I remember right some friends of mine talk about stuff like that when they go hunting with a bow. Maybe it is possible. I think some research is in need here, I wish I could help!

Those new steel-tipped heavy duty, industry made arrows will... not sure about the wooden ones though. The arrowhead will penetrate, I am just not sure if the rest of the arrow would crack or shatter from impact. Either way, I don't think it is something any readers will care about, it's too minor of a detail.

The question raises more questions.

What type of bow? Recurve, composite, stave?

What type of arrow? Wooden, aluminum, handcrafted?

What material of arrow-head? Stone, brass, steel, bone etc..?

What style of arrow head? (And from what Age?) Target, hunting, etc..

In my experience -

An aluminum arrow tipped with any arrowhead will penetrate a wet or dry oak at least deep enough for the tip to become well and truly stuck. I have ruined many arrows/tips by trying to extract them from trees (says a lot for my archery skill eh?). This happens with any type of bow I have used, although even the replica stave bows I've toyed with were made of rather modern design.